- Tech know how online


In RAID 6, the parity blocks are stored in duplicate, this is called double parity. In this RAID level, data blocks can still be written and read from the virtual disk array even if two disk errors occur at the same time or several hard disks fail.

Several parity checks are provided for RAID level 6: the parity check and the Reed-Solomon code, as well as the orthogonal parity check. For the parity checks, RAID 6 uses its own hard disk.

In RAID 7, a separate computer is responsible for disk management. Both RAID systems increase fail-safety by combining the systems described. RAID 7 is used as a local real-time operating system in the RAID controller.

Englisch: RAID 6
Updated at: 03.03.2015
#Words: 109
Links: indium (In), redundant array of inexpensive disks (RAID), level, data, virtual
Translations: DE

All rights reserved DATACOM Buchverlag GmbH © 2022